Naryn region is located in the South-East of the country, the region borders on the East with Ysyk-Kul, in the North — with Chui, in the West — with Jalal-Abad and Osh regions of the Kyrgyz Republic, in the South-with the China. The total area is 45.2 thousand square kilometers, which is 1/4 of the territory of Kyrgyzstan. Population-249,1 thousand people, which is 5,2% of the population of the Kyrgyzstan. The regional center is the city Naryn.

The climate of the region is continental, winter is cold and long, absolutely low temperature reaches – 45 degrees, summer is short and cool. You can observe several climatic zones: at an altitude of 1400-1600 meters above sea level - desert, 1600-1800 meters-semi-desert, 1800-2000 meters - steppe, 2500-4000 meters-subalpine and Alpine zones, above 4000 meters - zone of eternal snow.

Naryn region - is a surprisingly beautiful place, picturesque steep passes, green meadows, high mountains covered with greenery and snow, clean air, turbulent mountain rivers, magnificent mountain lakes, deep gorges, waterfalls, eternal snow and glaciers. In General, the nature of this area can satisfy even an avid and demanding tourist, a visit which will not leave indifferent any tourist.

Naryn river is one of the attractions of the city and the region. A length of about 800 km of the River, luring adventurers from around the world, as all over the the river rafting of all categories of complexity. The water rushes impetuously through the gorges and mountains, it seems that the river is violent and will not spare anyone. But this is until the water reaches the plain, where it is calm and mesmerizing with its coastal beauty.The rafting season on this rebellious river lasts from April to November, and the level of difficulty varies depending on the time of year. Experts advise to do rafting here on the most "stable" water-in late August and September.


There is also a historical and cultural zone, the complex "Tash-Rabat", which includes two historical sites: the settlement Koshoy-Korgon and the caravanserai Tash-Rabat.

The settlement Koshoy-Korgon is located near the village of Kara-Suu, located in the At-bashinsky district of the Naryn region. The settlement is the remains of the fortress city of Koshoy-Korgon and is located on the Great Silk Road. The ruins of the settlement date back to the VII-x centuries and has historical and cultural value. The city-fortress protected merchant caravans from attack of robbers and gave shelter to wanderers and pilgrims. The name of the settlement was in honor of the hero Koshoy - Manas, the hero of the eponymous epic. Near the ruins there is a Museum where you can see numerous archaeological artifacts found here on the site of the ruins.

Tash-Rabat – medieval caravanserai, one of the few well-preserved monuments of that era, it is located at an altitude of 3600 meters surrounded by snowy peaks and impregnable ridges of the Central Tien Shan. The monument dates back to the XV century and was built on one of the main caravan trails of the silk Road, linking the Fergana valley with the shore of lake Ysyk-Kul and the oases of Kashgar.


Son-Kul lake is a truly magical Alpine lake of the Tien Shan mountains. Its name translates as"the Last lake". It is located at the altitude of 3016 meters above sea level in the intermountain basin between the ridges of the Moldo-Too, Sonkul-Too and Boor-Alba, in the North-Western part of Naryn region. The length of the lake is 29 km long and 18 km wide, while the depth of the lake is 22 meters. The lake is the largest natural freshwater reservoir in Kyrgyzstan.

Food lake Son-Kul is provided by small rivers flowing down from the mountains. From the lake flows the river Son-Kul, which then flows into the turbulent river Naryn.

The lake is located on the mountain plain, which is surrounded by Jayloo. They have been used as pastures for animals since ancient times. The cattle spend the summer lead to the lake and the shepherds and their families live there in yurts for the summer season. To the lake suited four roads. One passes in the North-East through Sary Bulak, the other goes in the South-East through the serpentine road, the third is stretched in the South-West through Ak-Tal, and the fourth lies in the North-West past the coal mines of Kara Keche.

The transparent sparkling surface of the lake can be seen from afar. This pond looks like a precious pearl in an expensive frame among the snowy mountains. The surrounding landscape of the lake is pristine and seems mysterious and ancient. The beauty of the lake is untouched and creates an unforgettable picture. When the weather changes, the water surface of the lake changes its shades, it can have a purple hue, or blue, maybe even orange or yellow. And you may have a unique feeling that the lake is able to change your mood, which can be transmitted to you.

You will not see a single tree for many kilometers from the lake, but the lake has a very diverse herbal and small-shrub life. In particular, it grows in a large number of wild Edelweiss, and many other very rare flowers.

In the warm season migratory birds fly here: different kinds of ducks, gulls and other waterfowl (66 species in total). It is noteworthy that Son-Kul is the nesting place of the Indian goose. Just wild coast is home to many species of predators (snow leopard, red wolf, fox, etc.).


Chatyr-Kul lake is located in the Aksai valley, near Turuhanskogo of the pass leading to China at the height of 3530 meters. Chatyr-Kul - is the highest of the large lakes of the Tien Shan, its depth of the lake at different points reaches 20 meters. "Chatyr-Kul” means ”heavenly lake".

The lake is known as a wintering place for several species of wild birds, although there are no fish in the lake. The nature of the lake is unique and picturesque, it is home to red marmots, mountain goats and snow leopards. The water temperature varies from 6°C to 16°C in the period from July to August, and in winter the air temperature can drop to -54 degrees. The lake is almost drained, the water in it is fresh. This lake is the third largest in Kyrgyzstan.

Tourists traveling to Torugart, often stop near the lake and want to come nearer to the water. But, unfortunately, the land surrounding the lake is very swampy, moreover, it needs a special permission of the border service. There are hot springs near the lake. At the Western end of the lake there is also a reserve and a mausoleum.


All these attractions of the Naryn region are only a small part of what you can see and enjoy the amazing beauty of these places.

Нарынская область располагается на юго-востоке страны, область граничит на востоке с Ысык-Кульской, на севере — с Чуйской, на западе — с Жалал-Абадской и Ошской областями Кыргызской Республики, на юге — с Китайской Народной Республикой. Общая площадь - 45,2 тыс. кв.км, что составляет 1/4 территории Кыргызстана. Население - 249,1 тыс. человек, что составляет 5,2% населения республики. Областным центром является город Нарын.

Климат области - континентальный, зима холодная и продолжительная, абсолютно низкая температура доходит до – 45 градусов, лето короткое, прохладное. Можно наблюдать несколько природно-климатических зон: на высоте 1400-1600 метров над уровнем моря - пустыня, 1600-1800 метров - полупустыня, 1800-2000 метров - степи, 2500-4000 метров - субальпийские и альпийские пояса, выше 4000 метров - зона вечных снегов.

Нарынская область - это удивительно красивое место, живописные крутые перевалы, зеленые луга, высокие горы окутанные зеленью и снегом, чистый воздух, бурные горные реки, великолепные горные озера, глубокие ущелья, водопады, вечные снега и ледники. Вообщем природа этой области может побаловать даже заядлого и требовательного туриста, посещение которого не оставит равнодушным ни одного туриста.

Река Нарын одна из достопримечательностей как города так и области. Протяженность около 800 км. Река заманивает экстремалов со всего мира, так как на всем протяжении реки можно заняться рафтингом всех категорий сложности. Вода безудержно несется по ущельям, кажется что река буйная и никого не пощадит. Но это до тех пор пока вода не достигнет равнины, там она спокойная и завораживает своей прибрежной красотой.Сезон сплава по этой непокорной реке продолжается с апреля по ноябрь, а уровень сложности меняется в зависимости от времени года. Специалисты советуют заниматься рафтингом здесь по самой «устойчивой» воде — в конце августа и сентябре.


Так же здесь находиться историко-культурная зона, комплекс «Таш-Рабат», который включает в себя два исторических объекта: городище Кошой-Коргон и собственно, караван-сарай Таш-Рабат.

Городище Кошой-Коргон находится недалеко от села Кара-Суу, расположенном в Ат-Башинском районе Нарынской области. Городище является остатками города-крепости Кошой-Коргон и находится на Великом шелковом пути. Руины городища датируется VII-Х веками и имеет историческую и культурную ценность. Город-крепость защищал купеческие караваны от нападения разбойников и давал приют странникам и паломникам. Название городище получило в честь богатыря Кошоя - родного дяди Манаса, героя одноименного эпоса. Рядом с руинами размещен музей, в котором можно увидеть многочисленные археологические артефакты, найденные здесь на месте развалин.

Таш-Рабат – средневековый караван-сарай, один из немногих замечательно сохранившихся памятников той эпохи, находиться он на высоте 3600 метров в окружении снежных пиков и неприступных хребтов Центрального Тянь-Шаня. Памятник датируется XV веком и был построен на одном из главных караванных троп Шелкового Пути, связывавшая Ферганскую долину с берегом озера Ысык-Куль и оазисами Кашгара.


Озеро Сон-Куль является поистине волшебным высокогорным озером Тянь-Шанских гор. Его название переводится как «Последнее озеро». Оно располагается на высоте 3016 метров над уровнем моря в межгорной впадине между хребтами Молдо-Тоо, Сонкёл-Тоо и Боор-Алба, что в северо-западной части Нарынской области. Протяженность озера 29 км в длину и 18 км в ширину, при этом глубина озера составляет 22 метра. Озеро является самым крупным естественным пресноводным водоемом Кыргызстана.

Питание озера Сон-Куль обеспечивается небольшими речками, стекающими с гор. Из озера вытекает река Сон-Куль, которая затем впадает в бурную реку Нарын.

Озеро располагается на горной равнине, которая окружена жайлоо. Они используются под пастбища для животных с давних времен. Скот на лето приводят к озеру и пастухи с семьями живут там, в юртах весь летний сезон. К озеру подходят четыре дороги. Одна проходит  на северо-востоке через Сары-Булак, другая идет на юго-востоке через серпантинную дорогу, третья протянута на юго-западе через Ак-Тал, и четвертая пролегает на северо-западе мимо угольных шахт Кара-Кече.

Прозрачную сверкающую поверхность озера можно увидеть издалека. Этот водоем выглядит как драгоценная жемчужина в дорогой оправе среди снежных гор. Окружающий пейзаж озера первозданен и кажется таинственным и древним. Красота озера является нетронутой и создает незабываемую картину. При смене погоды водная гладь озера меняет свои оттенки, она может иметь фиолетовый оттенок, либо синий, может быть даже оранжевый или желтый. И у Вас могут возникнуть неповторимые ощущения, что озеро способно менять свое настроение, которое может, передаться и Вам.

Вы не увидите ни одного дерева на многие километры от озера, но озеро обладает очень разнообразной травяной и мелкокустарниковой жизнью. В частности здесь произрастают в большом количестве дикие эдельвейсы, и множество других очень редких цветов.

В тёплое время года сюда прилетают перелётные птицы: разные виды уток, чайки и другие водоплавающие птицы (всего 66 видов). Примечательно, что Сон-Куль - место гнездований индийского гуся. Так же дикое побережье служит домом для многих видов хищников (снежный барс, красный волк, лиса и т.д.).


Озеро Чатыр-Куль располагается в Аксайской долине, неподалеку от Торугарского перевала, ведущего в Китай на высоте 3530 метров. Чатыр-Куль - является самым высокогорным из крупных озер Тянь-Шаня, его глубина озера в разных точках доходит до 20 метровой отметки. “Чатыр-Куль” в переводе с означает “Небесное озеро”.

Озеро известно как место зимовки нескольких пород диких птиц, хотя в озере совершенно нет рыбы. Природа озера уникальна и живописна, здесь обитают красные сурки, горные козы и снежные барсы. Температура воды варьирует от 6°C до 16°C в период с июля по август, а зимой температура воздуха может опускаться до -54 градусов. Озеро практически бессточное, вода в нем пресная. По своей величине это озеро занимает третье место в Кыргызстане.

Туристы едущие на Торугарт, часто останавливаются возле озера, желая подойти к воде. Но, к сожалению, земля, окружающая озеро очень болотистая, более того для этого нужно специальное разрешение пограничной службы. Недалеко от озера есть горячие источники. В западном конце озера также располагается заповедник и мавзолей.


Все эти достопримечательности Нарынской области лишь малая часть того что можно увидеть и насладиться восхитительной красотой этих мест.